ITM Cup 2014 Season launched

The 2014 season of the ITM Cup was officially launched at a special event held at Auckland’s Western Springs Stadium on Tuesday 5th August, attended by captains and senior players representing the 14 ITM Cup provincial teams.

While all the teams eye the ITM Cup Premiership and Championship trophies up for grabs, the first competition Ranfurly Shield challenge strikes in Week 2 of an 11-week competition.

New Zealand General Manager Rugby Neil Sorensen said the ITM Cup held an important place in the rugby landscape and continued to be an important springboard for emerging talent.

“What we love about ITM Cup is its purity and how it straddles the amateur and professional parts of the game. This competition brings out the very best in traditional rivalries and it helps to tie communities together in a very visual way, through the use of provincial colours.

“As our All Blacks prepare to head out to visit provincial New Zealand later this week, today’s launch serves as a timely reminder that the dream for higher honours in rugby often starts here with the ITM Cup.”

ITM CEO Gordon Buswell welcomed the start of the season as another great opportunity to celebrate provincial rugby.

“Last year’s ITM Cup saw the Ranfurly Shield change hands many times which generated a huge degree of excitement as provinces fought hard to hold on to the shield and my feeling is that we’re in for more of the same this time around.

“At ITM, we’re passionate about our support of the national provincial championship, and every one of our 93 stores from Mangonui in the north to Invercargill in the south, will be waving the flag for their province,” Buswell said.

Competition highlights

The competition begins with Taranaki hosting Ranfurly Shield holders Counties Manukau at Yarrow Stadium on Thursday 14 August, and the following evening Southland welcomes Bay of Plenty, who were relegated from the Premiership last year.

Three matches on Saturday will see Otago, a 2013 semi-finalist in the Championship, host North Harbour, immediately followed by Canterbury, the reigning champions – having claimed the last six titles – playing Auckland in what promises to be a blockbuster at AMI Stadium.

Saturday’s action concludes with Waikato traveling to Wellington, while Sunday will see Tasman play out a replay of last season’s Championship Final with Lansdowne Park welcoming Hawke’s Bay, while the opening round of action concludes with Northland hosting Manawatu at Whangarei.

The Steelers, who have now defended the Ranfurly Shield five times with victories over Thames Valley and Mid Canterbury earlier this year, will put the oldest national prize in New Zealand Rugby (now 110-years old) up for grabs against Otago in the second round giving the Southerners another crack roughly 12 months after they created history.

The blue and gold won the Log o’Wood last year off Waikato, a week later they lost it to the Magpies, who then were unable to defend it against Tana Umaga’s Counties seven days later.

The ITM Cup Championship Final – to decide the promotion and relegation teams – will be played on Friday 24 October. The ITM Cup Premiership Final will be played on Saturday 25 October.


This entry was posted in Builder News, Consumer News, General News. Bookmark the permalink.